Yoga Dictionary

Avidya- misapprehension, incorrect knowledge, false understanding; the veil of perception that covers the heart, blocking clarity

Apana-energy your body can use as digestive fire, but is usually negative emotions to rid ourselves of; blocks space for prana

Asana-physical yoga postures

Chakra(s)-7 energy centers that run up the base of the spine through the crown of the head; when out of balance moderate to severe problems can arise

Dharma-one’s destiny, a fate to be fulfilled; duty, ethical value

Dhyana-self reflection, meditation; the 7th of Patanjali’s 8 Limbs of Yoga

Duhkha-suffering, the feeling of being squeezed or trapped with in the body; lack of space

Niyamas-Personal Morality; 2nd of  Patanjali’s 8 Limbs of Yoga

Patanjali-author of the Yoga Sutra; author of the 8 Limbs of Yoga; Raja Yoga (the royal path)

Prana-life force; it  surrounds us and when we make space, comes into us

Pranayama-breath work

Sadhana-personal practice

Samskara-Habits of the Mind

Sthira-steadiness and alertness, Sukha-lightness and comfort, happiness; Sthira Sukha- putting forth effort, and then letting go of the outcome or result

Swadhyaya-Self-Study;The 4th Niyama

Tamas-a state of heavines and lethargy; when out of balance manifests in unhealthy behaviors-acting from sadness/ non-joy, consistently not wanting to leave bed/junk food diet etc.

Yamas-Universal Truths; first of 8 Limbs of Yoga

Yoga Sutra-Sacred Yoga Text; written by Pantanjali